After India, Australia also reached the final of the World Cup

Kolkata: After India, Australia also qualified for the ICC World Cup 2023 final.

Australia defeated South Africa by three wickets in the second semi-final played at the Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium in Kolkata. The Proteas’ target of 213 runs was achieved by the Kangaroos in the forty-eighth over for the loss of seven wickets.

The bowlers of South Africa also defended the easy target and Australia’s batting line seemed to falter in front of the African bowlers, but after the fall of 7 wickets, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins played responsible batting and won the match for their team and reached the final. gave

The final of the tournament will be played between India and Australia in Ahmedabad on Sunday. India qualified for the final by defeating New Zealand.

Australia’s innings:

Chasing the target, Australia started the innings aggressively. The two openers Travis Head and David Warner put on a partnership of 60 runs off 38 balls but then Warner was dismissed for 29 runs.

Australia suffered another loss in the form of Mitchell Marsh who returned to the pavilion for zero. Travis Head got out after scoring 62 runs off 48 balls with the help of 9 fours and two sixes.

Marnus Labushin 18, Steve Smith 30, Maxwell one, Josh Ingles scored 28 runs and returned to the pavilion. Mitchell Starc remained not out with 19 and Pat Cummins with 14 runs.

For South Africa, Tabriz Shamsi and Coetzee dismissed 2 players each while Kagiso Rabada, Eden Markram and Maharaj took one wicket each.

South Africa’s innings:

Batting first, the South African team was all out for 212 runs in 49.4 overs. The Proteas openers failed to give the team a good start. Tumba Bauma returned to the pavilion without scoring a run in 4 balls. Quinton de Kock 3, van der Dusen 6, Eden Markarn 10 while Marco Johnson was the guest of zero.

Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller put on a 95-run fifth-wicket partnership, with Klaasen dismissed for 47 runs. Marco Safar went LBW, David Miller 101, Gerald Coetzee 19 runs, Keshav Maharaj 4 runs and Kagiso Rabada 10 runs. Tabriz Shamsi scored one run and remained not out.

For Australia, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins took 3, 3, Travis Head and Josh Hazlewood took 2, 2 wickets.

Earlier, the captain of the South African team, Tumba Bauma, had won the toss and decided to bat first. He said that he would try to win the match and qualify for the finals of the event.

On this occasion, Australian captain Pete Cummins said that he would have won the toss and batted, but he will try to get the African team out early and wrap up the victory.

Both the teams made one change in the playing XI, with Tabriz Shamsi replacing Langi Ngidi in the South African squad while Marcus Stoins replaced Marcus Stoins in the Australian squad.

Australian squad

Captain Pat Cummins, David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marence Lebuschagne, Josh Inglis, Marence LeBouchen, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

South Africa squad

Captain, Tumba Bauma, Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dusen, Henrik Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Johnson, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada and Tabriz Shamsi.